Sedbergh Circuit

Sedbergh Wesleyan Circuit Roll of Honour. Methodist Archive and Research Centre (reference MA 8030 item 171)
Trustees for Methodist Church Purposes, 2018

The eleven men from the Sedbergh Wesleyan Methodist Circuit are commemorated by a plaque in Sedbergh Methodist Church, which can be viewed here.

They were:

Pte. William Eglin Armer                      16854          7th Bn. Border Regt.

Sapper Fred Bushby                               126586       Royal Engineers

Pte. Stephen E. Handley                       32404         2nd Bn. South Staffordshire Regt.

Sapper Thomas E. Haresnape          126586        Royal Engineers

Pte. William Mason                                64347           5th Bn.King’s Own Yorkshire Light Infantry

Pte. George Middleton                         4863             4th Australian Pioneers

Pte. John Nelson                                      335947       Royal Scots

Lance Corporal Walter Sanderson 267267       Duke of Wellington’s Regt.

Pte. Robert Edward Seddon              23277            11th Bn. Border Regt.

Pte. John Winn                                          [30972]          16th Bn. Lancashire Fusiliers

Pte. Richard Winn                                    28837           West Riding Regt.

The Circuit is in the north Pennines, and consisted of a number of small chapels:

Sedbergh, Dent, Dent Head, Garsdale, Garsdale Foot, Grisedale, Cautley, Fell End, Frostrow.

No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published.